SAGINAW, Mich. – On Monday night, the Saginaw Spirit honored the award winners for the 2016-17 regular season, the 15th anniversary season of Spirit Hockey, at The Dow Event Center.


Owners Dick Garber and Craig Goslin, along with General Manager Dave Drinkill, and Head Coach Spencer Carbery were on-hand to present the awards to the winning players.


The following players took home regular season awards:


  • Community Service Award – #11 Kris Bennett
    For his five seasons of dedicated community outreach work in the Great Lakes Bay Region, overage player Kris Bennett is presented with this season’s Community Service Award.


  • Heart and Soul Award – #9 Brady Gilmour
    A “heart and soul” player is a player who lays it on the line for his team each night and possess the ability to contribute to the team in many ways.


  • Rookie of the Year Award – #96 Damien Giroux
    With 25 points this season, and strong play on both sides of the puck, 2016 3rd round pick Damien Giroux is the Rookie of the Year.


  • Most Improved Player Award – #29 Hayden Hodgson
    With 29 more goals and 43 more points over last season’s totals, leading scorer Hayden Hodgson was named “Most Improved Player”.


  • Fan Favorite Award – #35 Evan Cormier

        Everyone loves the goalie! As voted on by the fans, Evan Cormier is this season’s fan favorite.


  • Most Improved Defenseman – #5 Marcus Crawford
    With career highs in goals, assists, and points, Marcus Crawford is this year’s “Most Improved Defenseman”


  • Best Defenseman Award – #71 Filip Hronek
    As the team’s second leading scorer and top scoring defenseman, it’s plain to see that 2016 Detroit Red Wings 2nd round pick Filip Hronek was the Spirit’s best Defenseman.


  • Wren Blair Leadership Award – #55 Keaton Middleton
    The captain and third year player for the Spirit is the Wren Blair Leadership Award Winner


  • Most Valuable Player Award – #71 Filip Hronek
    Filip Hronek’s skill on the power play, overall defensive play, and being the 4th best scorer among defenseman in the OHL makes him the Spirit’s 2016-17 MVP.


  • Leading Scorer Award – #29 Hayden Hodgson

With 38 goals, 28 assists, and 66 points, Hayden Hodgson was the leading scorer for the Saginaw Spirit in the 2016-17 season.


  • Heritage HS Academic Player of the Year – #96 Damien Giroux


From the Ontario Hockey League Coaches Poll:

  • Hayden Hodgson, 2nd best body checker, Western Conference
  • Filip Hronek, 3rd best offensive defenseman, Western Conference


OHL Season Awards:

  • Hayden Hodgson, CHL Player of the Week, December 5-11
  • Hayden Hodgson, OHL Player of the Week, January 16-22
  • Damien Giroux, West Division Academic Player of the Month, December 2016


Stay current with the latest from your Spirit by logging on to Follow the Spirit all season long on Facebook (, Twitter (@SpiritHockey), Instagram (@saginawspirit), and Youtube (SaginawSpirit)

More News
Spirit Weekly Preview presented by Yeo & Yeo: March 24th, 25th, and 26th
4 hours ago
Spirit down Bulldogs 5-3, have points in eight straight
4 days ago
Spirit host Bulldogs on Trauma Night
4 days ago
Smith’s OT winner sends Spirit past Rangers, 4-3
5 days ago
Spirit meet Rangers on St. Patrick’s Day
5 days ago
Smith scores hat trick in 6-5 OT loss to Spits
7 days ago