Ivan Prosvetov to play in CIBC Canada-Russia Series

Toronto, Ontario – The Canadian Hockey League in association with the Russian Ice Hockey Federation today announced the roster for Team Russia that will compete in the 2018 CIBC Canada Russia Series which takes place November 5-15.


A team of 23 Russian players including two goaltenders, nine defensemen, and 12 forwards will travel across Canada as part of the 16th annual series playing six games against CHL competition in preparation for the 2019 IIHF World Junior Championship taking place this season in Vancouver and Victoria, British Columbia.


This year’s Team Russia includes 20 players born in 1999 and three born in 2000 and features five players with NHL affiliations. Among those players is goaltender Daniil Tarasov who was chosen by the Columbus Blue Jackets in the third round of the 2017 NHL Draft. An additional four were 2018 picks including second rounder Alexander Romanov (Montreal Canadiens) and fifth rounder Daniil Zhuravlev (Colorado Avalanche) on defence, along with forwards Bulat Shafigullin (Los Angeles Kings) chosen in the third round, and Pavel Shen (Boston Bruins) selected in the seventh round.


An additional 10 Russian-born CHL players, all with NHL affiliations, will compete against their respective leagues headlined by Western Hockey League defenseman Alexander Alexeyev of the Red Deer Rebels who was chosen in the first round of the 2018 NHL Draft by the Washington Capitals. He’ll play in both games against Team WHL beginning November 5 in Kamloops followed by Game 2 on November 6 in Vancouver. Ontario Hockey League goaltender Ivan Prosvetov (Arizona Coyotes) of the Saginaw Spirit will suit up for his home country in Game 3 of the series November 8 in Sarnia along with forwards Alexey Lipanov (Tampa Bay Lightning) of the Kitchener Rangers and Alexey Toropchenko (St. Louis Blues) of the Guelph Storm. Edmonton Oilers prospects Kirill Maksimov of the Niagara IceDogs and defenseman Dmitri Samorukov of the Storm will dress in Sarnia and in Game 4 set for Oshawa on November 12. Four Quebec Major Junior Hockey League players will compete November 13 in Sherbrooke and November 15 in Drummondville including Ivan Chekhovich (San Jose Sharks) of the Baie-Comeau Drakkar, Alexander Khovanov (Minnesota Wild) of the Moncton Wildcats, Pavel Koltygin (Nashville Predators) of the Drummondville Voltigeurs), and Dmitry Zavgorodniy (Calgary Flames) of the Rimouski Oceanic.



Behind the bench for Team Russia is head coach Valery Bragin who is making his seventh series appearance and fifth straight. His time with the Russian National Junior Team has led to five World Junior medals including 2011 gold in Buffalo, silver in Calgary (2012), Toronto (2015), and Finland (2016), along with bronze in Montreal (2017).



Team Russia has captured three series victories including 2010, 2012, and 2014.



2018 CIBC Canada Russia Series – Team Russia:


Most recent club team listed in brackets


Pyotr Kochetkov (HK Ryazan) – VHL

Daniil Tarasov (Toros Neftekamsk) – VHL


Vaniamin Baranov (MHK Dynamo Moscow) – MHL

Danila Galenyuk (SKA-Varyagi im. Morozova) – MHL

Evgeny Kalabushkin (SKA-1946 St. Petersburg) – MHL

Alexander Lyakhov (Tolpar Ufa) – MHL

Saveliy Olshansky (Zauralie Kurgan) – VHL

Alexander Romanov (CSKA Moscow) – KHL

Mark Rubinchik (Toros Neftekamsk) – VHL

Artyom Volkov (MHK Spartak Moscow) – MHL

Daniil Zhuravlev (Bars Kazan) – VHL


Aryom Galimov (Bars Kazan) – VHL

Evgeny Kanitsky (Metallurg Novokuznetsk) – VHL

Maxim Marushev (Bars Kazan) – VHL

Ivan Muranov (Dynamo Moscow) – KHL

Artyom Nikolaev (SKA-Neva St. Petersburg) – VHL

Bulat Shafigullin (Neftekhimik Nizhnekamsk) – KHL

Nikita Shashkov (Sibir Novosibirsk) – KHL

Pavel Shen (Salavat Yulaev Ufa) – KHL

Kirill Slepets (Lada Togliatti) – VHL

Stepan Starkov (HK Sochi) – KHL

Vladislav Tsitsyura (SKA-1946 St. Petersburg) – MHL

Alexander Yaremchuk (Avangard Omsk) – KHL

WHL players on Team Russia:

Alexander Alexeyev (Red Deer Rebels)

OHL Players on Team Russia:

Alexey Lipanov (Kitchener Rangers) – playing in Sarnia only

Kirill Maksimov (Niagara IceDogs)

Ivan Prosvetov (Saginaw Spirit) – playing in Sarnia only

Dmitri Samorukov (Guelph Storm)

Alexey Toropchenko (Guelph Storm) – playing in Sarnia only

QMJHL Players on Team Russia:

Ivan Chekhovich (Baie-Comeau Drakkar)

Alexander Khovanov (Moncton Wildcats)

Pavel Koltygin (Drummondville Voltigeurs)

Dmitry Zavgorodniy (Rimouski Oceanic)



Team Manager – Alexei Kochetkov

Head Coach – Valery Bragin

Assistant Coach – Yury Babenko

Assistant Coach – Alexander Boykov

Goalie Coach – Vladimir Kulikov

Strength and Conditioning Coach – Alexander Kofanov

Senior Manager – Oleg Shuliya

Video Coach – Vladislav Krutskikh

Video Coach – Alexander Kadykov

Physician – Valery Egorov

Massage Therapist – Artem Timofeev

Equipment Manager – Alexander Rezepov

Media Manager – Petr Tereshchenkov

The 2018 CIBC Canada Russia Series is supported by title sponsor CIBC, the Official Bank of the CHL, along with associate sponsors Kia Canada, Sherwin-Williams, Cooper Tires, and Kubota Canada. All games will be broadcast nationally on Sportsnet and TVA Sports.

2018 CIBC Canada Russia Series Schedule:

Game 1 – Monday November 5 at Kamloops, BC

Game 2 – Tuesday November 6 at Vancouver, BC

Game 3 – Thursday November 8 at Sarnia, ON

Game 4 – Monday November 12 at Oshawa, ON

Game 5 – Tuesday November 13 at Sherbrooke, QC

Game 6 – Thursday November 15 at Drummondville, QC


For event information including how to purchase tickets please visit

More News
Adopted Notices of Motion Following OHL Annual Meeting
7 hours ago
Future Watch: CHL talents star in summer before NHL Draft
1 day ago
Spirit announce details for 2019 Training Camp
3 days ago
Saginaw Spirit Single Game Tickets on sale Monday
1 week ago
Spirit acquire D.J. King from Hamilton Bulldogs
1 week ago
WSMH FOX 66 feature on Mitchell Smith
1 week ago