Game 4 Preview: Rookie goaltender Lennox leads Spirit into pivotal game

Guelph, ON – The Western Conference Finals continues Wednesday, April 24 for Game Four as the Saginaw Spirit look to build on their 2-1 series lead over the Guelph Storm.  Puck drop from the Sleeman Centre in Guelph, Ontario is 7:00 p.m.

The home team has been victorious in each of the first three games of the Western Conference Championship series.

The Spirit took Game One, 7-2 and an overtime thriller in Game Two, 4-3 at The Dow.  The Storm pulled away in the third period of Game Three, 5-2 from the Sleeman Centre on Monday night.

Watch Game Four live on or listen live on the flagship WSGW Newsradio 100.5 FM Talk and Sports and with the voice of the Saginaw Spirit Joey Battaino and Dennis Desrosiers on the call.  “Countdown to Faceoff” starts 15 minutes prior to puck drop in Game Four.

Fans can also watch the game live from the Saginaw Spirit “Watch Party” from the 2690 Tittabawassee Road Buffalo Wild Wings location.

Despite the Game four loss, 16-year old Tristan Lennox shined in a 41-save effort in his first career Ontario Hockey League (OHL) post-season start.  The 2018 Saginaw Spirit second-round pick was given the game’s third-star after the rookie net-minder kept the Spirit close for most of the game.

Lennox was thrust into action while Arizona Coyotes prospect Ivan Prosvetov serves a five-game suspension.

Saginaw Spirit fifth overall selection Cole Perfetti extended his point streak to three games with an assist in Monday’s contest.  The Spirit left-winger is second in this season’s playoffs among rookie scoring with 12 points and leads all OHL rookies with six goals this post-season.

Perfetti has three goals and three assists for six points after three games in the Western Conference Finals.

Florida Panthers first-round pick Owen Tippett is third among all OHL players in points (20) this post-season.  The Peterborough, Ontario native scored a goal for the first time in five games in the second period of Game three.

Overager Reagan O’Grady leads the OHL with a plus/minus of plus-18 through just nine postseason games this season.  The Saginaw defenseman scored the Spirit’s second goal to tie the game late in the second period of Game Three.

The Spirit have four of the OHL’s top-five plus-minus leaders throughout this year’s post-season.  Along with O’Grady, Hayden Davis (+12), Edmonton Oilers second-rounder Ryan McLeod (+12) and Rookie Mason Millman (+12) are all among the post-season’s plus/minus leaders.

McLeod, the 2018 40th overall pick of the Edmonton Oilers, scored the Game Two winner in overtime for the Spirit.

2015 Guelph Storm seventh round pick Cedric Ralph played a big role in Monday’s Game Three victory for the Storm.  The left-winger collected his first goal and point of the post-season, which earned Ralph the game’s first-star honor.

With an early second period goal in Game Three, Philadelphia Flyers second round pick Isaac Ratcliffe extended his goal streak to five games and point streak to six games.  The Guelph captain has been held scoreless in just three games in this year’s playoffs.

The OHL’s leading post-season scorer Nick Suzuki (24) contributed two assists for the Storm on Monday night.  The Montreal Canadiens signee rides an eight-game point streak into Wednesday’s Game Four contest.  The third period assist in Game Three was the Guelph center’s 60th career OHL post-season point.

Los Angeles Kings signee Sean Durzi also rides an eight-game point streak into Game Four.  Durzi is second among OHL defenseman with 16 points in this post-season.  The former Toronto Maple Leafs second-rounder was acquired by the Kings in the Jake Muzzin trade back in January.

Guelph has 11 players with rights owned by NHL teams, forwards Cam Hillis (Montreal Canadiens), Nick Suzuki (Montreal Canadiens-signed), MacKenzie Entwistle (Chicago Blackhawks-signed), Alexey Toropchenko (St. Louis Blues-signed), Liam Hawel (Dallas Stars), Nate Schnarr (Arizona Coyotes-signed), Isaac Ratcliffe (Philadelphia Flyers-signed), defensemen Dmitri Samorukov (Edmonton Oilers-signed), Sean Durzi (Los Angeles Kings), Markus Phillips (Los Angeles Kings), and Fedor Gordeev (Toronto Maple Leafs.)

The Spirit also boasts eight players drafted by NHL clubs, forwards Brady Gilmour (Detroit Red Wings), Blade Jenkins (New York Islanders), Owen Tippett (Florida Panthers-signed), Ryan McLeod (Edmonton Oilers), Damien Giroux (Minnesota Wild), defensemen Reilly Webb (Detroit Red Wings), Bode Wilde (New York Islanders-signed), and goaltender Ivan Prosvetov (Arizona Coyotes).

More News
Adopted Notices of Motion Following OHL Annual Meeting
23 hours ago
Future Watch: CHL talents star in summer before NHL Draft
2 days ago
Spirit announce details for 2019 Training Camp
4 days ago
Saginaw Spirit Single Game Tickets on sale Monday
1 week ago
Spirit acquire D.J. King from Hamilton Bulldogs
1 week ago
WSMH FOX 66 feature on Mitchell Smith
1 week ago