2022 OHL Under-18 Priority Selection tonight at 7:00pm

Ontario Hockey League


The sixth annual OHL Under-18 Priority Selection is set to commence at 7:00pm on Thursday, May 5 where no fewer than 40 players born in 2004 and 2005 will be chosen from Under-18 AAA programs from across the province.

The Under-18 Priority Selection will be held entirely online, and streaming for free on CHL TV. Follow along with pick-by-pick results here at

Here’s everything you need to know about the OHL Under-18 Priority Selection:


The concept for the OHL Under-18 Priority Selection was developed in 2017 with full support from Hockey Canada’s three Ontario Branches including the Ontario Hockey Federation (OHF), Hockey Eastern Ontario (HEO), and Hockey Northwestern Ontario (HNO), to assist in the growth of U18 AAA hockey and provide further opportunities for players at different stages of their hockey development.

Past and Present OHL U18 Draft Picks in the OHL:

Victor Hadfield (Barrie Colts, 1st overall 2017), Emmett Serensits (Sudbury Wolves, 7th overall, 2017), Marko Jakovljevic (Sarnia Sting, 28th overall 2017), Kaleb Pearson (Owen Sound Attack, 29th overall 2017).

Mitchell Weeks (Sudbury Wolves, 1st overall 2018), Dustin Hutton (Kingston Frontenacs, 3rd overall (PBO) 2018), Daniel D’Amato (Erie Otters, 4th overall 2018), Griffin Wilson (Owen Sound Attack, 15th overall 2018), Dakota Betts (Niagara IceDogs, 17th overall (KIT) 2018)

Ryan Thompson (North Bay Battalion, 8th overall 2019), Nick DeGrazia (Sudbury Wolves, 14th overall 2019), Matt Tovell (Windsor Spitfires, 25th overall 2019), Logan LeSage (Owen Sound Attack, 29th overall 2019), Gavin White (Hamilton Bulldogs, 47th overall 2019)

Anson Thornton (Sarnia Sting, 3rd overall 2020), Samuel Ivanov (Soo Greyhounds, 4th overall 2020), Paul Hughes (Kingston Frontenacs, 5th overall 2020), Andrew Whitton (Oshawa Generals, 13th overall 2020), Samuel Mayer (Peterborough Petes, 15th overall 2020), Marshall Nicholls (Erie Otters, 28th overall 2020), Ian Phillips (Saginaw Spirit, 54th overall 2020)

Abakar Kazbekov (London Knights, 1st overall 2021), Calem Mangone (Saginaw Spirit, 2nd overall 2021), Carter Bickle (Oshawa Generals, 18th overall 2021), Jaden Reyers (Peterborough Petes, 28th overall 2021), Ian Michelone (Flint Firebirds, 36th overall 2021), Charlie Fink (Saginaw Spirit, 39th overall 2021), Michael MacLean (Flint Firebirds, 43rd overall 2021)

Players Eligible for Selection:

All U18 players not currently on a CHL Member Team Protected List who were carded with an Ontario-based U18 AAA Hockey Club or an accredited Hockey Canada sport school within the OHF, HNO or HEO in the 2021-22 playing season are eligible for the U18 Priority Selection.

Selection Procedure:

The Under-18 Priority Selection Process is capped at two rounds with each OHL Member Team required to select two players.

The OHL’s four non-playoff teams, the Erie Otters, Niagara IceDogs, Saginaw Spirit and Sudbury Wolves, participated in a Priority Selection Lottery on April 20 to determine the order of selection for picks 1-through-4. The remaining order of selection is determined by inverse order of finish in the OHL regular season standings.

The Saginaw Spirit will select first overall in 2022, followed by the Erie Otters, Sudbury Wolves and Niagara IceDogs.

Goaltender Policy:

Should a Member Team select a goalie with one of their two selections, the Club has the option to select another player (skater only).  There will be an additional round added to the Under-18 Priority Selection to facilitate the drafting of the additional skater utilizing the same selection order and process.

General Rules of Selection:

OHL Member Teams may utilize a maximum of five minutes to select a player through the duration of the Under-18 Priority Selection.

Each OHL Member Team will have the opportunity for one two minute timeout during the Under-18 Priority Selection.

More News
Spirit Weekly Preview presented by Yeo & Yeo: March 24th, 25th, and 26th
5 hours ago
Spirit down Bulldogs 5-3, have points in eight straight
4 days ago
Spirit host Bulldogs on Trauma Night
4 days ago
Smith’s OT winner sends Spirit past Rangers, 4-3
5 days ago
Spirit meet Rangers on St. Patrick’s Day
5 days ago
Smith scores hat trick in 6-5 OT loss to Spits
7 days ago